Four-Time Champion Cazenovia College Earns Top Spot in 2018-19 NEAC Women's Swimming & Diving Preseason Poll

Four-Time Champion Cazenovia College Earns Top Spot in 2018-19 NEAC Women's Swimming & Diving Preseason Poll

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – Winners of the last four conference titles, the Cazenovia College women’s swimming and diving team has been selected as the No. 1 team in the 2018-19 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) women’s swimming and diving preseason poll.

Cazenovia College received three first-place votes and 26 total points to lead the field of five teams. Despite graduating nine seniors last year, the Wildcats will return with four NEAC All-Conference selections in Amy Bubb (Cicero, N.Y.), Katherine Meehan (Watkins Glen, N.Y.), Jenni Uplinger (Windsor, N.Y.) and Cassondra Henry (Deruyter, N.Y.). Bubb was named the 2018 NEAC Rookie of the Year at last year’s conference championship after a first-place finish in the 200-yard backstroke and swimming a leg for the 200 and 400-yard medley relay teams.

With two first-place votes and 24 points, Cedar Crest College comes in at No. 2 in the preseason rankings. After finishing second at the last two NEAC Championship meets, the Falcons will be looking to knock off the defending champs with the help of senior Olivia Lopez (Brandywine, Md.) who earned all-conference honors in five events last season. Senior Rachel Barrett (Langhorne, Pa.) and sophomore Sierra Ressler (Whitehall, Pa.) will also serve as leaders on a growing team that recently added competitive diving to its program.

Gallaudet University enters the new season ranked third in the coaches’ poll. The Bison will have a solid group of veteran swimmers leading the team in 2018-19, including junior Julia Miller-Notestone (Medford, Ore.) who earned All-NEAC accolades in six events at the conference championship. Jessica Monroe (Senoia, Ga.), Jackie Perkins (Hampton, Va.) and Jana Kiefer (Leander, Texas) also return after landing on the NEAC All-Conference Third Team in 2018 to help Gallaudet improve upon its fourth-place finish last year.

With its largest roster in recent seasons, Wells College finished fourth with 12 total points. Senior Courtney Cloutier (West Springfield, Mass.) highlights a group of eight returners and 10 newcomers after she had six all-conference finishes at the 2017-18 NEAC Championship. SUNY Cobleskill rounds out the poll in fifth place with four points. Head Coach Jamie Hotaling and the Fighting Tigers begin the year with eight freshmen in hopes of improving last year’s conference showing.  

The full 2018-19 NEAC women’s swimming and diving preseason rankings can be found below:

Rank Institution (First-Place Votes) Total Points
1. Cazenovia College (3) 26
2. Cedar Crest College (2) 24
3. Gallaudet University 14
4. Wells College 12
5. SUNY Cobleskill 4






The preseason poll rankings were conducted by the NEAC women’s swimming and diving coaches, with each coach ranking all teams but their own using a staggered points system (seven points for a first-place vote, five points for second, three points for third, and one point for fourth). Cedar Crest College kicked off the 2018-19 NEAC women’s swimming and diving season with a win on Oct. 6. Two more teams begin competition this weekend with a full season schedule available on the NEAC website


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: