Penn State Berks Claims Sixth-Straight NEAC Women's Soccer Regular Season Title, Playoff Seeding Announced

Penn State Berks Claims Sixth-Straight NEAC Women's Soccer Regular Season Title, Playoff Seeding Announced

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – For the sixth-straight season, Penn State Berks has won the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Soccer Regular Season Championship. The NEAC has also announced the schedule for the postseason tournament.

The NEAC Regular Season Champion is determined by comparing the top seeds from each division using specific criteria. Penn State Berks earned the top seed in the South with a 6-0-0 divisional record and posted a 10-0-0 record in the NEAC to take the title. SUNY Poly received the No. 1 North seed with a 5-0-1 record in the division. The Wildcats finished the regular season with an 8-1-1 mark against all league opponents.

This is the first year of a new postseason format in the NEAC utilizing divisional play for a number of sports, including women’s soccer. Eight teams will advance to the postseason tournament with the top four teams from each division advancing. First round matchups will take place within each respective division with the No. 1 seed hosting the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed.

Keuka College earned the No. 2 North seed with a 4-1-1divisional record and will host No. 3 North seed Penn College. Penn College and Morrisville State College finished with an identical 3-2-1 record in the North but Morrisville State College dropped to the No. 4 North seed due to divisional tiebreakers. The Mustangs will travel to SUNY Poly for their First Round game.

Lancaster Bible and Bryn Athyn College tied with a 4-2-0 record in the South but a win over Bryn Athyn gave Lancaster Bible rights to the No. 2 South seed. The Chargers will host the Lions in a First Round contest. With a 3-3-0 record in the division, Penn State Abington earned the No. 4 South seed and will travel to Penn State Berks.

All First Round games will be played on Tuesday, Oct. 31 with the following game times:

North Division                                                                          

Morrisville State College @ SUNY Poly – 2 p.m.

Penn College @ Keuka College – 6 p.m.

South Division

Penn State Abington @ Penn State Berks – 4:30 p.m.

Bryn Athyn College @ Lancaster Bible – 2 p.m.

Following the conclusion of the First Round games, the four remaining teams will be reseeded. The top seed will be designated as the host for the NEAC Women’s Soccer Final Four, which is scheduled for Nov. 4-5. The winner of the NEAC Championship will receive an automatic berth into the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Soccer Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: