NEAC Selects 2019 Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Team and Annual Honorees

NEAC Selects 2019 Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Team and Annual Honorees

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced its 2019 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Team with 38 student-athletes receiving first, second and third team honors. Four individuals were also selected for the league’s top honors in a vote by the conference coaches.

Morrisville State’s Courtney Cavellier (Rodman, N.Y.) has been recognized as the NEAC Offensive Player of the Year after scoring 57 goals and 14 assists for 71 points in 17 games thus far. The senior midfielder enters the postseason as the Mustangs’ leading scorer while ranking seventh in goals and eighth in points among NEAC players. Cavellier has collected 49 points in nine conference games and ranks among the league’s top 10 with 57 ground balls and 38 caused turnovers. She is 13th in Division III with 7.94 draw controls per game and leads the NEAC with 130 draw controls. Cavellier tallied nine points on two occasions this season to help the Mustangs earn conference victories against Penn State Abington and Keuka College. She recorded double-digits in draws four times, including 21 in a win over Hilbert College on April 6. Cavellier also had 10 or more caused turnovers in four games with her season-high of 12 coming in a win at Medaille College. Earning the NEAC’s top offensive honor caps off an outstanding season for Cavellier as she set the single-season and all-time program records in draw control wins while also becoming the second player in Morrisville State history to surpass 200 career goals.

Lexi Firkins (Brockport, N.Y.) from Morrisville State has been named the NEAC Defensive Player of the Year after serving as a key piece of a defensive unit that limited its conference opponents to a league-best 4.11 goals-against average. Firkins and the Mustangs allowed just 37 goals in nine league games, which are 26 fewer goals than any other NEAC team. The Mustangs’ junior defender missed the first half of the season due to injury but came back in time for league play to register 44 ground balls and 35 caused turnovers in 12 games while totaling 34 ground balls and 25 caused turnovers in conference games. Firkins closed out the regular season with one of her best outings of the year with a season-high eight ground balls and five caused turnovers in a win at SUNY Poly. In addition to her defensive award, Firkins is also listed on the All-Conference First Team for the second-straight year.

SUNY Poly’s Samantha Dayter (Cohoes, N.Y.) has been selected as the NEAC Rookie of the Year after an outstanding first season. The Wildcats’ rookie midfielder ranks fifth among conference players with 60 goals and sixth with 78 points. Dayter scored nine points in two games this season, including a six goal, three assists performance in a win against Cazenovia. She ranks second in the NEAC with 81 ground balls and scooped up a season-high 11 against Penn State Abington. Dayter also is fourth in the league with 115 draw controls and 13th with 27 caused turnovers.

Morrisville State head coach Taryn Burkholder has been voted by her peers as the NEAC Coach of the Year for the first team in her career after leading the Mustangs to their second-straight regular season title. Under Burkholder’s leadership, Morrisville State posted a perfect 9-0 record against league opponents and enters the postseason at 12-5 overall. In her second season with the Mustangs, Burkholder’s squad leads the NEAC in nine categories in conference play, including goals per game (20.33) and goals-against average (4.11). In addition to receiving three major awards, the Mustangs also earned six of the 13 All-Conference First Team selections.

2019 NEAC Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

Position Name Institution Year Hometown
All-Conference First Team
Attack Celia Abbott Morrisville State  Sr. Shortsville, N.Y.
Attack Emily Somes SUNY Poly So.  Elbridge, N.Y.
Attack ^ Savanah Connors Wells College Jr. Moriches, N.Y.
Attack ^ Chelsea McNeal Morrisville State Jr. Ithaca, N.Y.
Midfield Courtney Cavellier Morrisville State Sr. Rodman, N.Y.
Midfield Mackenzie Maloney Wells College Sr. Huntington, N.Y.
Midfield Kayla Prosinski SUNY Poly Jr. Endwell, N.Y.
Midfield ** Kendall Neuberger  Keuka College Sr. Penn Yan, N.Y.
Defense Lexi Firkins Morrisville State Jr. Brockport, N.Y.
Defense Elizabeth Sherman Keuka College Sr. Auburn, N.Y.
Defense Lydia Cooley Morrisville State Jr. Honeoye Falls, N.Y.
Defense ** Samantha Burlow Medaille College So. West Seneca, N.Y.
Goalkeeper Kadi Bice Morrisville State Fr. Lorraine, N.Y.
All-Conference Second Team
Attack Brenna Voigt  Keuka College So. Penn Yan, N.Y.
Attack Breana Howe Cazenovia College Jr. Apalachin, N.Y.
Attack Jennifer Maxam SUNY Poly Sr. Clinton, N.Y.
Attack **^ Alexis Ackerson Medaille College So. Niagara Falls, N.Y.
Midfield Hannah Thompson Lancaster Bible Sr. Morgantown, Pa.
Midfield Sydney Bloom Keuka College Fr. Penn Yan, N.Y.
Midfield Samantha Dayter SUNY Poly Fr. Cohoes, N.Y.
Midfield **^ Michaela Breeze Cazenovia College Sr. Auburn, N.Y.
Defense Molly Burdick SUNY Poly Fr. Vestal, N.Y.
Defense Chelsie Thomas Cazenovia College Jr. Central Square, N.Y.
Defense Julia Prychodko D'Youville College Jr. East Aurora, N.Y.
Goalkeeper Megan Dulniak D'Youville College Sr. Cheektowaga, N.Y.
Goalkeeper ** Anna Bozeat Wells College Sr. Jordan, N.Y.
All-Conference Third Team
Attack Emma Campagna  Medaille College Jr. Clarence, N.Y.
Attack Madelaine Taylor Keuka College Fr. Oswego, N.Y.
Attack Renee Bartosz Wells College Sr. Hamburg, N.Y.
Attack ** Aylnn Phelan Penn State Abington Jr. Philadelphia, Pa.
Midfield Raegan Horst Lancaster Bible Sr. New Holland, Pa.
Midfield Macayla Barry Medaille College So. Hamburg, N.Y.
Midfield Claire Purdy Medaille College So. West Seneca, N.Y.
Defense Samantha Tropp Penn State Abington So. Strasburg, Pa.
Defense Maddy Austin Medaille College So. West Seneca, N.Y.
Defense Alison Gareis D'Youville College So. Buffalo, N.Y.
Defense ** Julia Smith Wells College  Sr. Guilderland, N.Y.
Goalkeeper Janelle Thomas Keuka College So. Painted Post, N.Y.

**Denotes at-large selection

^ Denotes unbreakable tie in voting


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: