Morrisville State Earns Third-Straight NEAC Women's Lacrosse Title in Hard-Fought Win over SUNY Poly

Morrisville State Earns Third-Straight NEAC Women's Lacrosse Title in Hard-Fought Win over SUNY Poly

MORRISVILLE, N.Y. – In a game that could have gone either way, Morrisville State came away with a 14-12 win over SUNY Poly in Sunday’s North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Lacrosse Final at Morrisville State’s Drake Field, giving the Mustangs their third-consecutive league crown.


SUNY Poly was quick on the attack, scoring the first three goals of the afternoon, before Morrisville State’s Courtney Cavellier (Rodman, N.Y.) got the Mustangs on the board at the 22:23 mark. Wildcats’ junior midfielder Kayla Prosinski (Endwell, N.Y.) scored her hat trick goal at 21:58 to put the visitors up 4-1 but Cavellier responded with two goals to complete her own hat trick and make it a one-goal game. Jillian Hughes (Brookfield, N.Y.) tied it up at 13:22 before Mustangs’ rookie Grace Hanehan (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) gave Morrisville State its first lead of the day with 10:09 left in the first half. The two teams continued to be evenly-matched through the end of the half with the Mustangs taking a slight 8-6 edge into halftime.

Morrisville State tallied two goals to open the second half but SUNY Poly answered right back with a pair of goals to keep the Mustangs’ lead at two. The Mustangs were able to stay just one step ahead of the Wildcats until the 11:35 mark when SUNY Poly rookie Samantha Dayter (Cohoes, N.Y.) scored an unassisted goal to tie up the game at 12-12. A free-position goal by Morrisville State’s Makenzi Santini (Fairport, N.Y.) with 6:02 remaining proved to be the game-winner and Celia Abbott (Shortsville, N.Y.) added an insurance goal with 1:25 left on the clock to lift the Mustangs to victory.

Cavellier was named the Tournament Most Valuable Player after recording a game-high six goals, six ground balls and eight draw controls in Sunday’s game. On the weekend, the Mustangs’ senior midfielder totaled seven goals, one assist, seven ground balls, 16 draw controls and four caused turnovers.

SUNY Poly’s offense was led by Prosinski and Dayter with five points apiece. Prosinski also picked up three ground balls, seven draw controls and three caused turnovers in Sunday’s championship game. Wildcats’ goalie Alycia Lugo (Wappingers Falls, N.Y.) recorded 14 saves in the loss. SUNY Poly ends the year at 12-7 overall. 

The Mustangs improve to 14-5 on the year and will turn their attention to the NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Tournament after receiving an automatic berth. The tournament bracket will be announced tonight at 9:30 p.m. on a selection show that can be viewed at


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: