SUNY Poly Captures 2018 NEAC Women's Basketball Regular Season Championship, Eight-Team Field Announced

SUNY Poly Captures 2018 NEAC Women's Basketball Regular Season Championship, Eight-Team Field Announced

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – Behind its fourth-straight North Division Title, SUNY Poly has earned the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Basketball Regular Season Championship. The NEAC has also announced the eight teams that have qualified for a spot in the 2018 postseason tournament.

SUNY Poly and NEAC South Division Champion Lancaster Bible each finished the regular season with a 15-1-0 record against all conference opponents, forcing the regular season crown to be determined by conference tiebreaking criteria. Both SUNY Poly and Lancaster Bible also posted an 11-1 mark in their respective divisions and will host First Round games on Tuesday.

This is the first year of a new postseason format in the NEAC utilizing divisional play for a number of sports, including women’s basketball. Eight teams will advance to the postseason tournament with the top four teams from each division advancing. First round matchups will take place within each respective division with the No. 1 seed hosting the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed.

Keuka College enters Tuesday as No. 2 North seed with a 10-2 record in division and will host No. 3 North seed Morrisville State College. In 12 games against North opponents, the Mustangs recorded an 8-4 record. Despite finishing in a divisional tie with Wells, the application of conference tiebreakers allowed Cazenovia College to claim the No. 4 North seed with a 5-7 record in the North.

With an 8-4 division record, Gallaudet University comes into the tournament at the No. 2 South seed. The Bison will host No. 3 seed Penn State Berks, who posted a 7-5 mark against teams from the South Division. Penn State Abington, who also finished at 7-5 in the division, will begin the postseason as the No. 4 South seed and travel to Lancaster Bible.

All First Round games will be played on Tuesday, Feb. 20 with the following game times:

North Division                                                                          

Cazenovia College @ SUNY Poly – 8 p.m.

Morrisville State College @ Keuka College – 7 p.m.

South Division

Penn State Abington @ Lancaster Bible – 8 p.m.

Penn State Berks @ Gallaudet University – 7 p.m.

Following the conclusion of the First Round games, the four remaining teams will be reseeded. The top seed will be designated as the host for the NEAC Women’s Basketball Final Four, which is scheduled for Feb. 24-25. The winner of the NEAC Championship will receive an automatic berth into the 2018 NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: