NEAC Announces 2017 Softball North Division All-Conference Team and Awards

NEAC Announces 2017 Softball North Division All-Conference Team and Awards

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. - The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced its 2017 Softball North Division All-Conference selections with the top 20 student-athletes in the division receiving honors on the first and second team. Each All-Conference team consists of 10 student-athletes regardless of position. Three individuals were also honored by the NEAC with annual awards that are selected in a vote by the conference coaches. 

Jessie Hammers (Wayland, N.Y.) received two awards after an outstanding first year for Keuka College, earning NEAC North Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year honors. In 29 games played, Hammers leads the NEAC with a .542 batting average, .587 on-base percentage and 27 stolen bases. Her batting average also ranks fourth among all Division III players. She has rattled off 45 hits which ranks fifth in the conference and is the second-highest single season total in Wolves’ history. Hammers is also tied for second in the NEAC with five triples and has scored 30 runs with 10 RBIs. She has 16 multi-hit games and hit safely in 26 of 29 games while ending the regular season on an 11-game hitting streak. In the field, Hammers has recorded 33 putout with 39 assists to close out the regular season with a .923 fielding percentage. Hammers was also recognized on the North Division All-Conference First Team.

Keuka College’s Colleen Mooney (Endicott, N.Y.) was named NEAC North Pitcher of the Year with a 15-3 record during her rookie campaign. She leads the North Division in wins and boasts a division-leading 1.41 ERA. Her ERA dropped to 1.07 in conference play where she held her opponents to a .182 batting average. In 19 games, Mooney tossed 16 complete games and four shutouts. In 114 innings of work, Mooney allowed just 23 earned runs and struck out 94 batters to average 5.77 strikeouts per game. One of her best outings of the season came on Apr. 9 against SUNY Cobleskill when she threw a complete-game shutout with five hits and 10 strikeouts. Mooney was one of three players from Keuka to land on the North Division All-Conference First Team.

Penn College Head Coach Jackie Klahold was voted the NEAC North Division Coach of the Year after leading her team to a 20-11 overall record. Klahold and her squad will enter the postseason as the No. 2 seed from the North after posting a 16-6 mark against conference opponents. In just her third season at Penn College, Klahold’s program has continued to trend upward by improving its win total by eight since the 2015 season. Four of Klahold’s players were recognized on the 2017 North Division All-Conference Team.

The complete North Division All-Conference Team is listed below. 

2017 NEAC Softball North Division All-Conference Team

Name Institution Yr. Position Hometown
North Division All-Conference First Team
Taylor Krow Penn College So. OF Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Hannah Croteau Cazenovia College Fr. C/OF Central Square, N.Y.
Jessie Hammers Keuka College Fr. INF/OF Wayland, N.Y.
Colleen Mooney Keuka College Fr. P Endicott, N.Y.
Katelyn Warren Keuka College Jr. C Elmira Heights, N.Y.
Taylor Brooks Penn College So. P/OF Cogan Station, Pa.
Naomi Kubo Wells College Fr. UTIL Sacramento, Calif.
Taylor Spranger Cazenovia College Sr. 1B Schenevus, N.Y.
Kelsey Morgan Cazenovia College Jr. P/3B Central Square, N.Y.
Hannah Hoffman SUNY Cobleskill Jr. 3B Troy, N.Y.
North Division All-Conference Second Team
Samantha Blum Keuka College Sr. OF Niskayuna, N.Y.
Taylor Hines SUNY Polytechnic So. 3B Mechanicville, N.Y.
Kassie Winters Penn College So. P Sayre, Pa.
Danielle Witchley SUNY Polytechnic Sr. C New Hartford, N.Y.
Elizabeth Marr Morrisville State Sr. INF Lindenhurst, N.Y.
Kelsey Schuette Cazenovia College Jr. P/OF Ballston Spa, N.Y.
Maddy Wenk Penn College So. C Biglerville, Pa.
Sydney Cullen Wells College Sr. SS King Ferry, N.Y.
Angela Bartlett SUNY Polytechnic Sr. INF West Winfield, N.Y.
Holly Gamlen Morrisville State Jr. INF Cazenovia, N.Y.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf).  The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s and women’s tennis.  For more information, please visit: