Penn State Berks, Keuka Claim NEAC Softball Regular Season Division Crowns; Conference Tournament Begins Friday at Penn State Berks

Penn State Berks, Keuka Claim NEAC Softball Regular Season Division Crowns; Conference Tournament Begins Friday at Penn State Berks

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The Penn State Berks Nittany Lions and Keuka College Wolves finished at the top of the standings to claim their respective North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) softball divisional regular season titles. As the No. 1 seed from the South Division, Penn State Berks will serve as the host site for the 2017 NEAC Championships.

The six-team, double-elimination tournament will be held Friday, May 5 through Sunday, May 7. The winner of the NEAC Championship Tournament will earn an automatic bid to the regional tournament of the NCAA Division III Softball Championships.

Defending champion Keuka College posted a 25-9 overall record in the regular season, which included a 23-1 ledger against conference opponents, to earn the top seed from the North Division. Despite having its final two NEAC games rained out, Penn College went 16-6 in NEAC play and earned the No. 2 seed with a .727 winning percentage. Cazenovia College will be the No. 3 seed from the North with a 17-7 conference record and a .708 winning percentage.

With three titles in the last four years, Penn State Berks will be looking to avenge last season’s loss. The Nittany Lions clinched the No. 1 seed in the south and the right to host with a 19-1 record in league play. The site of the tournament alternates each season between the top seed in each respective division, with the No.1 seed in the South being slated as the 2017 host.  Wilson College will return to the postseason as the No. 2 seed from the South with a 15-5 NEAC record. Penn State Abington rounds out the six-team field with a 10-10 mark to earn the No. 3 seed.

The complete tournament schedule is as follows:

Game 1: Friday 10 a.m.: Penn College vs. Penn State Abington
Game 2: Friday 12 p.m.: Wilson College vs. Cazenovia College
Game 3: Friday 2 p.m.: Penn State Berks vs. Winner of Penn College/Penn State Abington
Game 4: Friday 4 p.m.: Keuka College vs. Winner of Wilson/Cazenovia
Game 5: Saturday 9 a.m.: Loser of Game 2 vs. Loser of Game 3
Game 6: Saturday 12 p.m. Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 4
Game 7: Saturday 2 p.m.: Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 4

Game 8: Saturday 4 p.m.: Winner of Game 5 vs. Winner of Game 6
Game 9: Sunday 10 a.m.: Loser of Game 7 vs. Winner of Game 8
Game 10: Sunday 12 p.m.: Winner of Game 7 vs. Winner of Game 9
Game 11 (If necessary): Sunday at 2 p.m.: Winner of Game 10 vs. Loser of Game 10


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf).  The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s and women’s tennis.  For more information, please visit: