Penn State Berks Tops Penn State Abington to Win Second-Straight NEAC/NAC West Division Title

Penn State Berks Tops Penn State Abington to Win Second-Straight NEAC/NAC West Division Title

CLARKS SUMMIT, Pa. – Penn State Berks defeated Penn State Abington, 5-1, to win its second-straight North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC)/North Atlantic Conference (NAC) West Division Men’s Tennis Championship on Saturday morning at the Birchwood Tennis Club.

Championship Match

No. 3 Penn State Abington 1, No. 1 Penn State Berks 5

Recap (Provided by Penn State Berks)

Penn State Berks swept all three doubles matches, including a hard-fought 8-6 win at No. 1 doubles by Will Byler (Lancaster, Pa.)  and Diego Olazagasti (Exeter, Pa.) over Penn State Abington’s Michael Litz (Huntingdon Valley, Pa.) and Brandon Zweiback (Philadelphia, Pa.). The No. 2 doubles pair of Curtis Uhle (Blue Bell, Pa.) and Federico Ochoa (Buenos Aires, Argentina) from Penn State Berks took their match by a score of 8-0, while Grant Batzer (Lititz, Pa.) and Shane Leaf (Coatesville, Pa.) earned an 8-3 win at No. 3 doubles.

Berks went up 4-0 when sophomore Diego Olazagasti (Exeter, Pa.) defeated Ilker Erkut (Philadelphia, Pa.) at No. 2 singles, 6-1, 6-1. Penn State Abington picked up a point at No. 5 singles with a 6-0, 6-1 final from Andrew Mandujano (Philadelphia, Pa.) but moments later Berks locked up the win with a 6-3, 6-0 victory by Shane Leaf at No. 6 singles.

Penn State Berks will advance to the NEAC/NAC Crossover Championship against the NAC East Division Champion Colby-Sawyer on Sunday, May 6 at Tri-City Tennis Club in Latham, N.Y. The winner of the NEAC/NAC Crossover Championship will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Tournament.

The doubles portion of the men’s individual tournament began shortly after the conclusion of the team championship match. Singles matches will begin on Sunday at 9 a.m. with the NEAC Men’s Tennis All-Conference Team and Individual Awards announced at the conclusion of Sunday’s action.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit:

*Beginning with the 2010 season, the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) in the sport of men’s tennis. The NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC in men’s tennis and members from each conference will be divided into an East and West Division. Each division will hold a championship and the two divisional champions will meet to determine the conference champion. The conference winner will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis Championships.