2019 NEAC Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams & Major Awards Announced

2019 NEAC Men's Soccer Major Award Winners
2019 NEAC Men's Soccer Major Award Winners

LATHAM, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced the 2019 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Teams and Major Award winners as determined by the league’s head coaches.

Penn State Abington’s Hernando Villamil (Philadelphia, Pa.) is the 2019 Player of the Year. During league play, Villamil led the attack for Penn State with 10 goals and two assists for 22 points, which led the NEAC. Penn State Abington was the league’s top offense against league foes. The senior was twice named NEAC Offensive Player of the Week and finished the regular season leading the NEAC in overall goals (17) and points (37). Villamil also set new program records for points and goals in a career this season.

Shammah Gahomera (Rochester, Mich.) from Penn State Harrisburg is the Defensive Player of the Year. Gahomera is part of a backline that allowed the fewest goals in NEAC play as Penn State Harrisburg allowed five goals in 11 games and led the league in goals-against average at 0.45 and with eight shutouts. Overall this season, Penn State Harrisburg led the NEAC with a 0.88 goals-against average and shared the league lead with 17 goals conceded. Going forward, Gahomera tallied five assists and 11 total points.

SUNY Cobleskill’s Rashawn Best (Brooklyn, N.Y.) toke home Rookie of the Year honors. The first-year Fighting Tiger was the lone goalkeeper in the NEAC with a save percentage over .800 at .857. Best third in goals-against average at 0.99. The Brooklyn, N.Y. native posted a 6-4-2 record in 14 games and recorded a pair of shutouts for SUNY Cobleskill. 

The Coach of the Year is Daniel J. Krzyzanowicz from Penn State Harrisburg. It is the second coach of the year honor for Krzyzanowicz. Seven players from Penn State Harrisburg earned all-conference honors; including Gahomera being named defensive player of the year. Penn State Harrisburg won the regular-season title with a 10-1 record in NEAC play this season and will host this weekend’s final four. It is the first NEAC Regular Season Title for Penn State Harrisburg and two wins this weekend would give the program its first NEAC Tournament Title.

Player of the Year
Hernando Villamil, Penn State Abington

Defensive Player of the Year
Shammah Gahomera, Penn State Harrisburg

Rookie of the Year
Rashawn Best, SUNY Cobleskill

Coach of the Year
Daniel J. Krzyzanowicz, Penn State Harrisburg

First Team
Forward - Hernando Villamil, Penn State Abington, Sr.
Forward - Joey Aman, Penn State Harrisburg, Jr.
Forward - Jamar Gayle, SUNY Poly, Sr.
Forward - Brenden Valverde, Penn State Berks*, Jr.
Midfield - Rama Mugisha, Lancaster Bible, Jr.
Midfield - Jose Palomeque, Penn State Abington, Jr.
Midfield - Richie Morris, SUNY Poly, Sr.
Defense - Claude Tuyishimire, Keuka, Sr.
Defense - Shammah Gahomera, Penn State Harrisburg, Jr.
Defense - Gregoire Diedhiou, SUNY Cobleskill, Sr.
Goalkeeper – Nicholas Guglielmetti, Penn State Harrisburg, Jr.

Second Team
Forward - Chad Johnson, Gallaudet, So.
Forward - Chad Tolson, Lancaster Bible, Sr.
Forward - Emile Vwaza, SUNY Cobleskill, Sr.
Midfield - Sebastian Krysztofowicz, Penn State Abington, Jr.
Midfield - Luke Myers, Penn State Harrisburg, Fr.
Midfield - Mame Amar, SUNY Cobleskill, Sr.
Defense - Nathan Muckle, Lancaster Bible, So.
Defense - Chris McFarland, Penn College*, So.
Defense - Jared Brewer, Penn State Harrisburg, Jr.,
Defense - Wakeley Banker, SUNY Poly, Fr.
Goalkeeper – Rashawn Best, SUNY Cobleskill, Fr.

Third Team
Forward - Kedric Yoder, Lancaster Bible, So.
Forward - Teo Chavez, Morrisville State, So.
Forward - Junger Vargas, Wells, Sr.
Midfield - David Andreasson, Cazenovia, Jr.
Midfield - Jacob Krantweiss, Penn State Harrisburg, So.
Midfield - Boubacar Doucoure, SUNY Cobleskill*, Sr.
Midfield - Akeem Shelton, SUNY Poly, Fr.
Defense - Daniel Sparkowski, Morrisville State, Jr.
Defense - Michael Albers, Penn State Abington, Jr.
Defense - Mason Jones, Penn State Harrisburg, Jr.
Goalkeeper - James D’Alessio, SUNY Poly, Fr.

*-At-large selections


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: www.neacsports.com.