Lancaster Bible Takes Home Third Consecutive NEAC Presidents' Cup

Lancaster Bible Takes Home Third Consecutive NEAC Presidents' Cup

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced Lancaster Bible as the winner of the 2018-19 NEAC Presidents’ Cup, marking the third-straight year the Chargers have finished atop the league rankings.

This is the fifth year that the NEAC has determined its Presidents’ Cup winner by utilizing the core values of NCAA Division III. In addition to calculating athletics success, which was the only factor taken into consideration when awarding the conference’s Presidents’ Cup in the past, the NEAC now also takes into account academics, sportsmanship and community service. 

“Congratulations to Lancaster Bible for winning its third-straight NEAC Presidents’ Cup while also earning the Faculty Athletics Representatives’ and Athletics Direct Reports’ Cups,” said Dr. Davie Gilmour, Penn College President and Chair of NEAC Presidents’ Council. “I would also like to commend all the NEAC student-athletes, coaches and staff that have been recognized throughout the week as today’s announcement is the culmination of a great year for our conference. Keeping the values of Division III in our mission and at the forefront of everything we do is what sets the NEAC apart and helps prepare our student-athletes for the future.”  

Each category of the Presidents’ Cup produces individual cup winners with Lancaster Bible, Keuka College and Penn College earning recognition throughout the week. Each of the NEAC’s 12 full-member institutions are given a ranking based on their results from each category. The total rankings from all four categories are added together with the lowest overall score determining the NEAC Presidents’ Cup honoree. This model is the first of its kind across all NCAA Division III conferences.

Complete results for the 2018-19 NEAC Presidents’ Cup 

Lancaster Bible was named the recipient of two cups earlier this week with the Chargers earning the NEAC Faculty Athletics Representatives’ Cup and the NEAC Athletics Direct Reports’ Cup. The NEAC Faculty Athletics Representatives’ Cup honors academic success with Lancaster Bible boasting a student-athlete average GPA of 3.221 and 49.25 percent of its student-athletes receiving NEAC Scholar-Athlete honors. In the NEAC Athletics Direct Reports’ Cup, the Chargers also topped the league by totaling 809 points out of a possible 1,149 and earning an average score of 0.7041 in the annual sportsmanship rankings. Lancaster Bible also ranked fourth in both the NEAC Senior Woman Administrators’ Cup and the Athletic Directors’ Cup which recognizes outstanding community service and athletic success, respectively.

“Earning this award is a surprise this year” shared Pete Beers, Lancaster Bible Director of Athletics. “Athletics can make a vital impact on individual student-athletes and on the institution as a whole. I am thankful for the great team of coaches and staff that bring their very best, regardless of circumstance, to all aspects of student development, and I want to thank Dr. Teague for his leadership and his continued guidance in helping our department develop and grow. Finally, we give this glory to our Lord and Savior and thank Him for allowing us this accomplishment. I am excited we were able to edge out Keuka College and am excited about the competition that will be event tighter during the 2019-20 academic year.”

Lancaster Bible showed tremendous consistency in all areas of the NEAC Presidents’ Cup rankings as the Chargers are the only NEAC institution to finish in the top five in each category for the second-straight year, receiving 10 total points and the top spot in the NEAC Presidents’ Cup ranking.

“I’m thankful for the commitment of our Athletic Director Pete Beers, the athletic staff and all of our coaches for their role in winning the NEAC Presidents’ Cup for the third-straight year,” said Dr. Peter W. Teague, Lancaster Bible President. “They are consistently pouring into our student-athletes, and it shows on a day-to-day basis.”

“We aren’t pursuing the Presidents’ Cup on a yearly basis, but what we want to be is consistent in our daily approach to all aspects of being an NCAA Division III student-athlete,” added Josh Beers, Lancaster Bible Senior Vice President for Student Experience. “Our athletic department pillars of passion, respect, ownership and gratitude are lived out by our athletic director, staff, coaches, and student-athletes every day, and that is what we are striving for here at Lancaster Bible.”

Keuka College finished second in the NEAC Presidents’ Cup rankings with 12 total points behind a first-place finish in the NEAC Athletic Directors’ Cup and a top-five listing in three of the four categories. Penn College earned its highest ranking to date with a third-place finish and 19 total points while Morrisville State came in fourth with 20 total points. SUNY Poly closed out the top five in the overall rankings with 23.5 total points.

“With the NEAC’s highest honor for the third year in a row, Lancaster Bible continues to show its overall commitment to NCAA Division III and NEAC values,” said Candice Murray, NEAC Commissioner. “The Chargers’ continued success is attributed to the hard work and dedication of each student-athlete, the athletic staff and the entire campus community. We congratulate Lancaster Bible on their steadfast commitment to providing a well-rounded student-athlete experience and excelling in doing so!”

Since the NEAC’s change in format for awarding the Presidents’ Cup in 2014-15, Lancaster Bible is the only institution to win the overall award on multiple occasions. Penn State Abington won the first revamped Presidents’ Cup in 2014-15, followed by Morrisville State in 2015-16.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Morrisville State, Penn College, Penn State Abington, Penn State Berks, Penn State Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly, and Wells College. Associate members are: Alfred State (M Lacrosse), Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), College of Saint Elizabeth (M Tennis & M Volleyball), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), SUNY Potsdam (M Volleyball) and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has also partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and women’s tennis. For more information, please visit: