Morrisville State College Defeats Gallaudet University to Earn First NEAC Women's Volleyball Crown

Morrisville State College Defeats Gallaudet University to Earn First NEAC Women's Volleyball Crown

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – It was a hard-fought matchup Sunday at Penn State Berks as Morrisville State College rallied in the fourth set to defeat Gallaudet University, 3-1, and claim its first North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Women’s Volleyball Championship.

Boxscore / Recap (Provided by Morrisville State College)

The two sides each picked up a 25-18 set win to begin the match before the Mustangs maintained control of the third set, topping the Bison 25-15 to take the lead. Gallaudet University came on strong in the fourth set but the Mustangs rallied to eventually tie it at 16-16. The teams went point-for-point for much the final stretch before Morrisville State College secured took the set, 25-22, to claim the program’s first conference championship.

Darriyan Thomas (Vallejo, Calif.) led the Bison with 14 kills while Adele Daniels (Austin, Texas) handled 38 assists. Defensively, Raelyn Fuechtmann (South St. Paul, Minn.) recorded 26 digs.

Morrisville State College’s Megyan Merrill (Millport, N.Y.) was named Tournament Most Valuable Player after compiling 44 kills, three service aces and 30 digs on the weekend. In Sunday’s championship game, Merrill recorded a game-high 24 kills and a team-high 22 digs. Helena Hanes (Brockport, Pa.) and Kim Dunkleman (Williamsville, N.Y.) also played key roles in the Mustangs offense, contributing 25 and 21 assists, respectively.

The loss for Gallaudet University marks the end of a remarkable run which included seven straight conference championships. The Bison close out the season with a 18-16 overall record.

Morrisville State College improves to 24-6 with the win and earns an automatic berth into the 2017 NCAA Division III Women’s Volleyball Tournament. The Mustangs will find out their next opponent in the NCAA Selection Show scheduled for Monday at 12:30 p.m. on


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: