SUNY Cobleskill Wins Back-To-Back NEAC Men's Swimming & Diving Titles

SUNY Cobleskill Wins Back-To-Back NEAC Men's Swimming & Diving Titles

COBLESKILL, N.Y. – For the second-straight season, the SUNY Cobleskill Fighting Tigers emerged victorious to win the 2017-18 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship after tallying 498 points to secure the third title in program history at the three-day meet held at SUNY Cobleskill’s Bouck Hall Natatorium.

The Fighting Tigers won three of Sunday’s events and nine of 20 events on the weekend to take the top spot on the podium.  Wells College finished first in two events on the final day of competition to secure second place with 394 points. Gallaudet University finished closely behind in third with 379 points after a pair of events on day three and two new NEAC records. Cazenovia College rounded out the field in fourth with 196 points.

Gallaudet University’s Benjamin Sealts (Ottawa, Ohio) was named NEAC Men’s Swimmer of the Year after setting new conference records on each day of the championship meet. On Sunday, Sealts finished first in the 200-yard backstroke to set a new mark of 1:55.86. Sealts was also named NEAC Co-Rookie of the Year with SUNY Cobleskill’s Daniel Mullen (Oswego, N.Y.). Mullen wrapped up his first conference championship on Sunday with a record-setting swim in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 49.17 and also swam on the winning 400-yard freestyle relay team.

Gallaudet University head coach Larry Curran was selected as the 2017-18 NEAC Men’s Swimming & Diving Coach of the Year as voted on by his fellow coaches..

The 2017-18 NEAC Men's Swimming & Diving All-Conference Teams were also announced, which were awarded to any of the swimmers or divers that finished in the top three for each of the 20 events taking place throughout the championships. First Team honors were awarded to the first-place finishers for each event, while the Second and Third Team selections consisted of the second- and third-place finishers, respectively. The complete list of All-Conference honorees can be found here.

Day 3 Results


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: