Morrisville State College Edges Out Bryn Athyn College in NEAC Men's Lacrosse Final

Morrisville State College Edges Out Bryn Athyn College in NEAC Men's Lacrosse Final

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Men’s Lacrosse Tournament came to an exciting end as Morrisville State College defeated Bryn Athyn College, 11-10, Saturday evening to win its fourth-straight conference championship.

The win gave the Mustangs their fifth title in program history and an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Tournament. The tournament field will be announced during the NCAA Selection Show on Sunday at 9 p.m., which can be viewed at


The first quarter ended with the two sides knotted at 2-all after Bryn Athyn College (9-7) scored the first two and Morrisville State College (11-7) closed out the quarter with a pair of its own. The Mustangs gained their first lead of the day at 13:32 of the second when Joe Piedigrossi (Cortland, N.Y.) netted an unassisted goal followed by a man-up goal from Chris Dovi (Cortland, N.Y.). The Lions responded with goals from Jon Carr (Crofton, Md.) and Nolan Frame (Coldstream, British Columbia) to tie it up at 4-4 but Dovi scored the next two to give the Mustangs a 6-4 lead at halftime.

After Morrisville State opened the third quarter with goal, Bryn Athyn responded with three consecutive goals to tie the game again with 1:36 left in the quarter. Ten seconds later, Brad Biggs (Tully, N.Y.) scored the go-ahead goal to give the Mustangs a lead they would not relinquish the rest of the way. The Lions didn’t make it easy thought as the teams traded goals throughout the fourth quarter. With 4:26 remaining in the game, Eric Fisher (Nutley, N.J.) added an unassisted goal to put Morrisville State up by a score of 11-9. Bryn Athyn made it interesting when Carr found the back of the net with 21 seconds to play but that’s as close as the Lions would come in knocking off the defending champions.

Dovi led the Mustangs’ offense with five goals and was named the Tournament Most Valuable Player while Biggs added two goals and two assists. Chad Temple (Minoa, N.Y.) and David Gullen (Baldwinsville, N.Y.) each recorded five ground balls and three caused turnovers to help Morrisville State earn a hard-fought win. Bryn Athyn College had Carr finish the day with four goals and Andrew Coyle (Philadelphia, Pa.) chip in four points on two goals and two assists. Lions’ face-off specialist Shane McCurdy (Bryn Athyn, Pa.) led all players with seven ground balls and 14 face-off wins. Brad DePasquale (Baltimore, Md.) made a game-high 15 saves in the Bryn Athyn net while Morrisville State’s Dan Sherlock (Tully, N.Y.) had 12 stops.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: