Morrisville State Earns 2019 NEAC Men's Basketball Regular Season Championship, Postseason Field Set

Morrisville State Earns 2019 NEAC Men's Basketball Regular Season Championship, Postseason Field Set

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – With a 15-1 record against conference opponents, Morrisville State is the 2019 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Men’s Basketball Regular Season Champion for the fourth time in team history. The NEAC has also announced the six teams that will make up the 2019 tournament field.

Men’s basketball utilizes North and South divisional standings to determine its postseason tournament field with the top three teams from each division advancing. First round matchups will take place within each respective division with the No. 2 seed hosting the No. 3 seed. The No. 1 seed from each division will receive a bye to the NEAC Final Four.

Morrisville State earned the top spot in the North Division with a 10-0 divisional record. SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Poly and Cazenovia College finished the night locked in a three-way tie with a 5-5 record against North Division teams. Divisional seeding criteria determined SUNY Poly as the No. 2 North Seed when margin of victory of the three tied teams was compared. SUNY Cobleskill and Cazenovia College were then compared with the tiebreaker again coming to margin of victory, which gave SUNY Cobleskill the No. 3 North Seed.

Despite Lancaster Bible and Penn State Abington both finishing with an 8-2 record against South Division opponents, tiebreaking criteria favored the Chargers to give Lancaster Bible the No. 1 South Seed. Penn State Abington begins tournament play as the No. 2 South Seed, while the College of Saint Elizabeth is the No. 3 South Seed with a 6-4 divisional record.

To determine the regular season champion and Final Four host, the top seed from each division are compared with the first seeding criteria being overall conference record. Morrisville State’s 15-1 overall conference record gave the Mustangs the right to host after Lancaster Bible closed at the regular season at 11-5.

All First Round games will be played on Tuesday, Feb. 19 with the following game times:

North Division                                                                          

No. 3 SUNY Cobleskill @ No. 2 SUNY Poly – 8 p.m.

South Division

No. 3 College of Saint Elizabeth @ No. 2 Penn State Abington – 7 p.m.

Following the conclusion of the First Round games, the four remaining teams will be reseeded to determine semifinal matchups. Morrisville State will host the NEAC Men’s Basketball Final Four scheduled for Feb. 23-24. The winner of the NEAC Championship will receive an automatic berth into the 2019 NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Tournament.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has 12 NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of Saint Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, Morrisville State, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, and Wells College. Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (W Lacrosse), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse), Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf), and Wilson College (M Volleyball). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sport of men’s tennis and with the Colonial State Athletic Conference in the sport of Field Hockey. For more information, please visit: