NEAC Announces 2018 Baseball All-Conference Team and Individual Honors

NEAC Announces 2018 Baseball All-Conference Team and Individual Honors

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. - The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has announced its 2018 Baseball All-Conference selections with first and second team honors being awarded to the top 24 players, regardless of position. The NEAC has also announced the four individuals to receive the league’s annual awards, with all honors determined in a vote by the conference coaches.

For the second-straight season, Toby Welk (Downingtown, Pa.) from Penn State Berks has been named the NEAC Player of the Year. Welk’s dominant season made him one of the top players in Division III as he ranked among the top five nationally in batting average (.495), home runs per game (0.35), RBIs (52), RBIs per game (1.58) and on-base percentage (.582) while his 1.029 slugging percentage is tops in Division III. The junior third baseman ranks second in the NEAC in runs scored (47), doubles (13), triples (5) and home runs (12). He has recorded at least one hit in 26 of the 31 games he has played in and has recorded two or more hits in 19 games, including a four-hit game on three occasions. Welk has also driven in two or more runs in 13 games this season. In conference games, he is hitting .516 with 36 RBIs and 33 runs scored. In addition to his power at the plate, Welk has provided the Nittany Lions with quality defense by recording 58 assists, 29 putouts and playing a role in six double plays. His outstanding play was recognized with three NEAC Player of the Week awards during the 2018 season.

Penn State Berks right-hander Tyler Comport (Boyertown, Pa.) has been selected as the NEAC Pitcher of the Year after closing out the regular season with a 6-0 record, which includes four conference wins and two complete games. The Nittany Lions’ senior pitcher posted a 2.49 ERA with 49 strikeouts in 43 1/3 innings. Comport has struck out at least four batters in all seven of his starts and has recorded nine or more strikeouts in three games. He leads the NEAC in wins while ranking second in ERA and strikeouts. While providing his team consistency on the mound, Comport has also been a threat at the plate with a .402 batting average. He has four doubles, five triples, one home run, 24 RBIs and 32 runs scored while recording a hit in 18 of the 30 games he has appeared in. Defensively, Comport also boasts a .977 fielding percentage with nine assists.

Penn State Abington’s Ryan McCarty (Yardley, Pa.) has been tabbed the NEAC Rookie of the Year after making an immediate impact upon his arrival. The Nittany Lions’ freshman established himself as one of the league’s top players in 2018 as he ranks first in the NEAC with 49 runs, 60 hits and 14 doubles. McCarty also ranks third in batting average (.455), slugging percentage (.697) and RBIs (42). In 34 games, he finished the regular season with four home runs, 15 stolen bases and 17 walks while only striking out eight times. McCarty also made nine appearances on the mound for Abington, posting a 5-3 record with a 3.91 ERA and 29 strikeouts. In the field, McCarty has a .968 fielding percentage and helped turn 24 double plays. 

In his sixth season as the head coach at Penn State Berks, Justin Konnick has been honored with his first NEAC Coach of the Year award. Konnick led the Nittany Lions to a 17-1 record in league play and a 22-10 overall mark to earn the top seed in this weekend’s postseason tournament. Penn State Berks leads all NEAC teams with a .350 team batting average, a .461 on-base percentage and a .499 slugging percentage. The Nittany Lions rank first in the league in ERA (5.15), runs (327), triples (23), extra-base hits (98), walks (205) and sacrifice flies (31). In addition to having two players receive individual awards in 2018, Konnick’s team landed three players on the NEAC All-Conference First Team.

2018 NEAC Baseball All-Conference Team

Name Institution Year Position Hometown
All-Conference First Team
Toby Welk Penn State Berks Jr. 3B Downingtown, Pa.
Will Welsh Lancaster Bible Jr. OF Lancaster, Pa.
Ryan McCarty Penn State Abington Fr. INF/OF Yardley, Pa.
Tyler Comport Penn State Berks Sr. OF/P Boyertown, Pa.
John Rizzo Keuka College Sr. SS Auburn, N.Y.
Dante Salerno Penn State Berks So. SS Lehighton, Pa.
Connor Manderson SUNY Poly Sr. C New Hartford, N.Y.
Stevie Stevenson Penn State Abington So. INF/OF Westhampton, N.J.
Chris Schad Cazenovia College Sr. 1B Syracuse, N.Y.
Cameron Upton Gallaudet University Jr. 2B Vicksburg, Miss.
Brittan Kittle Penn College So. C Millville, Pa.
Sam Taylor Lancaster Bible So. OF/2B Greenville, S.C.
All-Conference Second Team
Ryan Caroway Keuka College Sr. P Binghamton, N.Y.
Brandon Shirley Wells College So. INF/P Ithaca, N.Y.
Max Bair Penn College Sr. P Centre Hall, Pa.
Dan Bamann Keuka College Jr. 3B Rochester, N.Y.
Brandon Griesemer Penn State Berks Jr. P/1B Boyertown, Pa.
Zack Leonard Lancaster Bible Sr. P Quarryville, Pa.
Ben Flicker Penn College So. INF Topton, Pa.
Cody Cline Penn College So. OF Waynesboro, Pa.
Dylan Nolan Wells College So. C Brick, N.J.
Dakota Skinner Keuka College Sr. UTIL Waverly, N.Y.
Kyle Gumm Gallaudet University Sr. CF Dallas, Texas
Alec Bowie Keuka College Sr. OF Sparta, N.J.























The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf). The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s tennis. For more information, please visit: