Penn State Abington Earns Regular Season Baseball Title; Hosts NEAC Championship Tournament

Penn State Abington Earns Regular Season Baseball Title; Hosts NEAC Championship Tournament

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – With an 11-3 record in conference play, the Penn State Abington Nittany Lions earned the 2017 North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) Baseball Regular Season Championship and will serve as the host for the NEAC Tournament this weekend. 

The four-team, double-elimination conference tournament will be held over three days from Friday, May 12 through Sunday, May 14.

After sharing the regular season title in 2015, the Nittany Lions have won back-to-back regular season titles to enter the tournament as the No. 1 seed. With many teams unable to complete their conference schedule, seeding was determined by conference winning percentage. Penn State Abington led the league with a .786 winning percentage to earn the top spot in the standings.

Penn College will enter the tournament as the No. 2 seed after posting an 11-4 record for a .733 winning percentage. Penn State Berks earned the No. 3 seed with a 10-6 record and a .625 winning percentage. Keuka College rounds out the tournament field as the No. 4 seed with a 9-6 record for a .600 winning percentage.

Postseason play will begin on Friday at 8 a.m. with Penn State Abington playing Keuka College. All games will take place at Bucknell University’s Depew Field. The change in venue and game schedule has been made in advance of forecasted inclement weather. The winner of the three-day tournament will be crowned the conference champion and earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Baseball Tournament.

The complete tournament schedule is as follows: 

Friday, May 12

Game 1: 8 a.m. – No. 1 Penn State Abington vs.  No. 4 Keuka College
Game 2: 11 a.m. – No. 2 Penn College vs. No. 3 Penn State Berks

Game 3: 2 p.m. - Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2
Game 4: 5 p.m. - Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2

Saturday, May 13 *
Game 5: 9 a.m. - Winner of Game 3 vs. Loser of Game 4

Game 6: 12 p.m. - Winner of Game 4 vs. Winner of Game 5

Game 7 (if necessary): 3 p.m. – Loser of Game 6 vs. Winner of Game 6

In the event of any postponement on Saturday due to rain, games will be shifted to Sunday. Be sure to follow or @NEACSports on Twitter for schedule updates throughout the weekend.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has fourteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Bryn Athyn College, Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Pennsylvania State University – Abington, Pennsylvania State University – Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Morrisville State College, SUNY Polytechnic Institute, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), D’Youville College (M Volleyball), Hilbert College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse, M Volleyball), Pennsylvania State University – Altoona (M Volleyball), and Rutgers University – Camden (M Golf).  The NEAC has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of field hockey and men’s and women’s tennis.  For more information, please visit: