Wilson College, Morrisville State College Announce Additions in Sport Sponsorship

Wilson College, Morrisville State College Announce Additions in Sport Sponsorship

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) members Wilson College and Morrisville State College will both see additions to their sport sponsorship beginning in the 2013-14 academic year.

In its ongoing transition to a co-ed institution, Wilson College will begin its addition of men’s sports programs this upcoming year, with both men’s and women’s cross country being added this fall.  The addition of women’s cross country now gives the sport full sponsorship across the conference’s 12 institutions for 2013-14, while all 11 co-ed conference members will sponsor men’s cross country as well.      

Wilson is also projected to add men’s basketball and men’s golf in 2014-15 along with men’s soccer and men’s volleyball in 2015-16.  This will bring the Phoenix’s sport sponsorship total to 11 by 2015, 10 of which will be conference-sponsored sports (men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s golf, women’s lacrosse, softball and men’s volleyball) to go along with field hockey.

“The addition of men’s sports programs at Wilson College will greatly benefit the NEAC by helping build our overall sport sponsorship,” said NEAC Commissioner Candice Murray.  “We look forward to Wilson’s continued growth in the future.”  

Morrisville State College will also be adding a men’s golf program and will begin play this fall.  The sport will now be sponsored by seven member institutions across the NEAC next season, which will allow the conference to keep its automatic qualifier to the NCAA tournament in tact by meeting the minimum amount of required teams competing in the sport.  The addition will also give the Mustangs 15 sport offerings overall.

“It is always beneficial when member institutions seek to add conference-sponsored sports in an effort to internally increase our offerings,” explained Murray.  “This growth helps expand the opportunities, competition and overall experiences for our student-athletes.”

The conference as a whole will continue to see growth in the coming future, as the NEAC recently announced the additions of Bryn Athyn College (Bryn Athyn, Pa.) and Pennsylvania College of Technology (Williamsport, Pa.) as full members for 2014-15, while Cedar Crest College (Allentown, Pa.) will join as an associate member in women’s swimming and diving beginning this fall.  The complete announcement on the addition of those institutions can be found here.


The North Eastern Athletic Conference has twelve NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Institute of Technology, SUNY Morrisville State College, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Bryn Athyn College and Pennsylvania College of the Technology will both join the conference as full members in 2014-15.  Associate members are: Cedar Crest College (W Swimming), Hilbert College (M Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf & M Tennis).  The North Eastern Athletic Conference has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of men’s and women’s tennis.