NEAC Announces Winners of 2011-12 President's Cup

SUNYIT won its third straight NEAC President's Cup in 2011-12.
SUNYIT won its third straight NEAC President's Cup in 2011-12.

GANSEVOORT, N.Y. – The North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) announced the winners of the 2011-12 President’s Cup during the conference’s annual retreat Wednesday, with the State University of New York Institute of Technology (SUNYIT) being the overall winner for the third straight season, while Keuka College won the Women’s Cup for the fourth consecutive year and Morrisville State College took home the Men’s Cup for the first time.

Each President’s Cup is awarded based on each institution’s overall winning percentage from the past academic year, which is calculated through a points system that takes into account each school’s finish in the final regular season standings for each team sport and the championship finish for each individual sport sponsored within the NEAC.

The SUNYIT Wildcats posted an overall winning percentage of .670 by earning 69 out of a possible 103 points on the year, being aided by regular season championships in both men’s soccer and women’s basketball as well second place finishes in softball and men’s cross country.  SUNYIT also finished second overall in both the men’s and women’s cup standings.

The Keuka College Storm continued their dominance in the women’s standings, tallying 48 out of a possible 65 points for a winning percentage of .738.  The Storm finished in the top four in six of the seven women’s sports they sponsor, which included a top finish in softball and second place finishes in both basketball and lacrosse.

Morrisville State finished atop the men’s standings after the Mustangs compiled a .784 winning percentage by accumulating 29 out of a possible 37 points.  The Mustangs took home regular season titles in both basketball and lacrosse, while also registering a third place finish in cross country.

The complete results for all three NEAC President’s Cups are as follows:

Women's Cup Standings (Winning %)  Men's Cup Standings (Winning %)  Overall Cup Standings (Winning %)

1. Keuka College               .738                1. Morrisville State Col.     .784            1. SUNY Inst. of Tech.         .670

2. SUNY Inst. of Tech.        .655                2. SUNY Inst. of Tech        .689            2. Penn State Harrisburg     .654

3. Cazenovia College         .651                3. Penn State Harrisburg   .677            3. Keuka College                .638

4. Penn State Harrisburg    .634                4. Penn State Berks          .625            4. Morrisville State Col.       .621

5. Wells College                .619                5. Penn State Abington      .535            5. Penn State Berks            .620

6. Penn State Berks           .616                6. Keuka College              .526            6. Cazenovia College          .579

7. Lancaster Bible Col.       .557                7. SUNY Cobleskill            .510            7. Wells College                  .532

8. SUNY Cobleskill             .528                8. Cazenovia College        .500            8. SUNY Cobleskill              .520

9. Morrisville State Col.      .517                9. Wells College               .429            9. Penn State Abington        .516

10. Penn State Abington     .500               10. Gallaudet University     .423           10. Lancaster Bible Col.        .495

11. Gallaudet University     .463               11. Lancaster Bible Col.     .413            11. Gallaudet University       .446

12. Col. of St. Elizabeth     .303                                                                         12. Col. of St. Elizabeth*      .303

13. Wilson College            .292                                                                         13. Wilson College*             .292


*College of Saint Elizabeth and Wilson College do not sponsor men’s programs, thus only each school’s women’s standings were included in the overall rankings.



The North Eastern Athletic Conference has thirteen NCAA Division III member institutions which include: Cazenovia College, College of St. Elizabeth, Gallaudet University, Keuka College, Lancaster Bible College, Pennsylvania State University - Abington, Pennsylvania State University - Berks, Pennsylvania State University -Harrisburg, SUNY Cobleskill, SUNY Institute of Technology, SUNY Morrisville State College, Wells College, and Wilson College.  Associate members are: Hilbert College (M Lacrosse), Medaille College (M&W Lacrosse) and Rutgers University - Camden (M Golf).  The North Eastern Athletic Conference has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference in the sports of baseball, women’s lacrosse, and men’s and women’s tennis.